Rainbow Connection

This morning, I got the first flood watch for fall on my phone.  A small strip of pinkish sky showed below the receding hairline of dark clouds.  Ruby and I went to the store.  The sky cleared more, backlighting flocks of small clouds in the sky.  We marveled at its beauty.

After I dropped Ruby off at school, I went out for a run. I haven’t slept well in several nights, so I knew today would be slow going. I’ve prayed several times about a task I must tackle. It weighs on me.  I need to do it, yet I keep putting it off.  I’m afraid I’ll do it wrong.  I don’t want to muck it up. And I am unsure where to start.

But I couldn’t resist drinking in the Vitamin D pouring down from the sky.  At first, all that poured from the sky was a light drizzle.  It soon stopped. The sun sparkled on the red and gold leaves strewn under my feet. I plodded along, in no hurry to get anywhere, only to be.

I watch the sky quite a bit when the weather is in…transition.  The dark clouds looming in the west crept ever nearer.  Suddenly, I looked up into a rainbow. I only saw half of it.  It arched over Ruby’s school and ended in the hills behind it.

From the geminigeek.com

From the geminigeek.com

I stopped to take it in.  We’ve had so much rain, with more on the way.  The curve of bright colors encouraged me. I turned around and headed home. As I peeked back over my shoulder, the rainbow evaporated. I focused my attention on hurrying back before the deluge.

I ran up our street and the rainbow was there in front me, again, waiting in the sky.  I could only smile at God’s audacity. Show off! This time I could see the entire arch, spanning at least a mile across the sky.  Amazing.

Photo by becuo.com

Photo by becuo.com

 

We had a guest speaker on Sunday.  He said, “Do the good thing. God gets into your good thing.  Make a good decision, and God is in it.  Keep making good decisions and doing good things. It becomes a God thing.” In other words, His blessing and favor breathe into your positive effort. To quote Nike:  Just do it.

The speaker also said to quit waiting for purple haze or green smoke to appear.  Or in my case, a rainbow.  I get it, God.  I’m on it. I might feel overwhelmed at the enormity of the task, but Your presence remains. Thanks for sending a sign anyway.  The rainbow reminds me of your enduring faithfulness and goodness.

I have placed my rainbow in the clouds. It is the sign of my covenant with you and with all the earth. – Genesis 9:13

Leave a Reply

