Tags

, , , , , ,

Happy birthday, Mr. Ziglar! On this day in 1926, you came into this world. While I don’t know much about your particulars, others do. As the 10th of 12 children, you had a ready-made community to grow up in. And your name was really Hilary Hinton Ziglar. I would’ve gone with Zig, too.

Until you are happy with who you are, you will never be happy because of what you have.

Five years later, your father died, then a younger sister. You grew up in rural Mississippi. Your faith in Jesus sustained you. Your mother and relatives taught you to work with what you had, to keep on.

The six people who had the biggest impact on my life were all women. Had I been sexist, my life would have been far less fulfilling.

The problem with pity parties is very few people come, and those who do don’t bring presents.

You served in the U.S. Navy during World War II. You met your wife when you were 17 and she was 16. You graduated from the University of South Carolina.

Success is the maximum utilization of the ability that you have.

Somewhere along the line, you became a motivational speaker. You addressed how to achieve success.

Success is dependent upon the glands – sweat glands.

When you are tough on yourself, life is going to be infinitely easier on you.

You talked about how to parent.

Every obnoxious act is a cry for help.

Be there for your kids. Later, when you need them, they’ll be there for you.

You focused on how to prosper in our chosen profession.

You are who you are and what you are because of what has gone into your mind. You can change who you are and what you are by changing what goes into your mind.

Your attitude, not your aptitude, will determine your altitude.

It was character that got us out of bed, commitment that moved us into action, and discipline that enabled us to follow through.

You brought up the nagging issue of physical health.

For 24 years of my adult life, by choice I weighed well over 200 pounds. I say ‘by choice’ because I have never ‘accidentally’ eaten anything, so when I choose to eat too much, I have chosen to weigh too much.

I once dieted so religiously I quit eating in church.

You made a lasting impact on us.

The right quote can inspire people to change their ways.

Yes, it can. Thanks, Mr. Ziglar, for showing us the example of good words.

Timely advice is lovely, like golden apples in a silver basket. – Proverbs 25:11

