Tags

, , , ,

I’m still a little high from publishing my book.  Thanks to those who have already purchased it.  I hope you enjoy it.

Photo by blogs.imediaconnection.com.

Photo by blogs.imediaconnection.com.

In the fall of 2004, we enrolled Zac in private school kindergarten.  He was four years old. The school tested him extensively, from reading simple words to addition and subtraction, as well as physical feats like galloping vs. skipping. The principal and other interested parties felt he was ready to begin formal education. We felt relief.  We wanted the best for Zac.

However, Zac’s perpetually unhappy kindergarten teacher and I went round and round about whether Zac should be in school at all.  Our position being:  he started reading at 4.  We can’t, in good conscience, keep him in daycare.  He needs mental stimulation. He’s curious about the world and realizes reading is the avenue to understanding. Yes, private school at Clark County Christian School (now defunct) proved dear at around $400 a month. But since public schools in our area wouldn’t take him so young, we felt we had no choice.

Mrs. T.’s position being:  he’s not emotionally mature enough to be in full-time school. She told me several times, her voice all regret, “I wish you’d kept him out one more year.” Grr!  She systematically drummed other boys out of her classroom for similar reasons.  Did I mention Mrs. T. also didn’t like teaching kids this young?  She would much rather have had 4th or 5th graders.  She liked older kids, she told me over and over.  Less behavioral issues, I reckon. Every time we met with her for conferences, I bit my tongue. How dare she criticize my beautiful boy?!  Lady, I pay your salary, paltry as it probably is, since I’m the primary breadwinner right now. Sigh. Luckily, Zac loved Mrs. T. wholeheartedly and never knew our interpersonal issues.

While cleaning out my email inbox today, I found this gem from the same teacher, circa 2005:

Dear Jonathon and Susan,

Today  during our Bible time as I finished the Bible, I asked if there was anybody who wanted to invite Jesus into their heart.  To be a follower of Jesus. Zac raised his hand and prayed to receive Christ.  It was a very simple but awesome thing.  So please ask him about it.

Blessings,

Mrs. T.

The process refined all of us. It forced us to shave some rough edges and learn a bit of kindness. At the end of the day, despite some financial hardship and a lot of soul-searching, it was worth it.

