Tags

, , , , , ,

Today, I’m finding myself overwhelmed with gratefulness.  This Christmas, with our finances in better shape, we’ve been able to do more than in the past. Jesus got it right. Giving is better than receiving.

I’m grateful for Jonathon. He’s the best friend I’ve ever had and he has seen me at my worst.  He loves me anyway, and finds new ways to show me.

I’m thankful for Zac. We sometimes butt heads.  Yet today, he got on Ruby’s case about obeying me in a timely fashion. “Hang your coat up now, not 30 seconds later when you feel like it, Ruby!” I smiled to myself, pretending to be immersed in my book.  Finally, I had to ask him to ease up a little.  He was protecting me.  I loved it, even if I don’t count Ruby as an enemy. And his sense of humor, well, it cracks me up.

I’m glad of Ruby. She makes me smile most days. Who else worries about the feelings of single bananas? Her sunny disposition makes 7:00 a.m. breakfasts a cheery occasion.

I know a great crew of folks at Anytime Fitness.  I started going there to gain some more health, get stronger.  What I got in friendships and camaraderie far outweighs any weight loss benefits.

I’ve met a lot of people here in the last 8 years.  Most new friends I’ve found in church.  Our church is a welcoming, friendly place. Nothing compares to serving alongside other committed believers, especially when they’re skilled in the task at hand.

I thank God for health, strength, creativity, humor and His grace plus patience to do small things and the big things.

I’ve written all of this because I feel the need to say thanks. This letter of thanks goes out to family, friends and of course, God.  I’d never be able to compile a complete list of all my blessings, so these are only a few. Being thankful implies there’s someone to be thankful *to*. I’ve been pondering the statement that grateful people are happy people.  I’m starting to believe it.

Whatever is good and perfect is a gift coming down to us from God our Father, who created all the lights in the heavens. He never changes or casts a shifting shadow. – James 1:17

