Tags

, , , ,

I ran outside this morning.  The thought of trekking up to the treadmill…well, it made me so very sad.  I couldn’t do it. Not for love or money, not that anyone offered either.

I put it off as long as I could.  You see, we’re under another coastal flood watch.  But you should know we get a ton of these a week on our smartphones, sometimes several a day. They have lost the ability to cause me dread, kinda like the boy who cried wolf. They’ve become routine. We don’t live right close to the ocean or the bay, or even a fresh body of water.  Our house abuts a hillside and  all the rain runs down and out of our yard. The thought of running in a downpour didn’t appeal to me.

So I did dishes.  I vacuumed.  I puttered around.  Finally, I cobbled together some motivation.  I haven’t been sleeping well and I didn’t have high hopes for this run because of that.  I put on my jacket, baseball cap and shoved the earphones in my ears.  No more excuses, now, I told myself.

And…the rain had stopped.  I walked down our little street, buoyed by its cessation. The air smelled fresh. Birds chirped. It felt like an early Christmas present.  Sure, the sky glowered and the early morning/twilight atmosphere continued.  But as I glided into my pace, it didn’t feel like work.

“Yesterday’s the past, tomorrow’s the future, but today is a gift. That’s why it’s called the present.”Bill Keane

I always wondered if Ugway from “Kung Fu Panda” came up with that saying.  Nope. Bill Keane draws the “Family Circus” cartoon. He said it first. Perhaps you’ve seen the strip?
BillyIt felt like, just for a moment, that God had given me the gift of a stress-relieving run on a dryish day. I pounded along, dodging puddles and smiling.  Also, good news:  I *did* see a dog. Yes, I know, we’re having a very mild winter here and rainbreaks happen for a number of meteorological reasons (read: above my pay grade).  Yet it lifted up my heart. Thanks for the reminder, Lord. I will make the most of this day. It is a gift, rain or shine.

