Winter of Change

Photo by nibofthought.info

Photo by nibofthought.info

Over the summer, as Jonathon and I prayed, we felt like the Lord was starting to make major alterations in our lives.  Jonathon got a new job working from home. I was working for the city, finishing up the shelter project. We kind of held our breath, wondering exactly what would occur.  And then…nothing.  My 8-hour-per-week job ended at the beginning of September. I felt a little sad.  Despite local scuttlebutt about city workers, I found them a kind lot, doing their best on a shoestring budget and skeleton crew. I still feel that way.

I did my regular things.  Got Ruby to school, shopped for groceries, paid bills.  I faithfully attended kettlebellls twice a week and writers group twice a monthish. I met with friends for coffee and conversation and the occasional lunch.  We attended church and participated in the services. For me, all remained status quo.

I applied for a Habitat for Humanity job last month.  I even interviewed.  The pay was just above minimum wage (read:  abysmal), the work interesting but challenging.

“Well, our financial records are a mess. You’d have to start there,” said my would-be boss. She trained her baby blues on me.

I offered a weak smile in return. Um.  No thanks. Been there, done that.  The t-shirt was too small. I won’t say I tanked the interview by drooling or anything, but I didn’t feel a connection or drive to pursue it. I never heard back so I assume I didn’t get it anyway.  Bullet dodged.

Then, out of the blue, right before New Year’s, I got a call from my friend at the city.  “Susan, we’re moving forward with the file clerk position.  Are you still interested?  Wait, are you working?”

I had to smile. Yes, I’m interested.  I applied for it when it posted, back in the summer. Then the budget for the 2-year position got cut. The position involves archiving essential completed projects, shredding non-essential old projects and scanning what remains.  The idea being having electronic files means the public can access them from a city computer, located in city hall, whenever they wish.  The process now involves a city employee monitoring project boxes and notebooks when a citizen requests information.

All of that to say I start on Tuesday. I will be working full time again for the first time in more than 9 years. I’ve had part-time gigs for the several years, off and on.  But this will be an 8-5, hour lunch, 40-hour-per-week type of job. I have to walk away from morning kettlebell classes I’ve taken for more than 4 years, and writers group.  I’m sad about losing those two activities and missing out on the friends made there, but excited about a new adventure in the grown-up world.  Honestly, I don’t know if I’ll be able to keep up a weekday blog. I’ll have to figure out flexibility to stay in touch with friends as well.

It seems that we had the right idea, Jonathon and I, but the wrong season.  Things don’t ever stay the same, do they? We all age. Children grow up. Seasons slip from one into another as time passes. I have a feeling I’ll be looking to the Lord a lot during this transition.  He is my rock.

Jesus Christ is the same yesterday, today, and forever. – Hebrews 13:8

P.S.  I almost forgot Janathon.  Did kettlebells class today with the 8:00 a.m crew.  Only two more left until I can no longer attend.  Have to make the most of them.

The new background theme is in honor of First Draft, my writers group. Thanks for everything.

5 thoughts on “Winter of Change

  1. Love this. I reminded myself this morning that if I’ll just focus on the tasks at hand and listen to my inner voice, God handles the big stuff. I worry far too much about it and all it does is ruin quality of life.

    Like

Leave a Reply

