Shine On

wet-pavement

I got up very early this morning to spend time with God and get a run in before church. Rex snuggled in my lap, purring and kneading the fuzzy blanket. He rumbled and gazed at me through heavy-lidded eyes. He reveled in his drug of choice:  fleece. His glossy fur glowed in the lamplight. I found myself grateful for this life and all its blessings once again. Peace filled me as the quiet morning and God’s presence surrounded me.

I hit the damp pavement an hour before sunup. The pavement shone under the streetlights.  It’s harder to push forward without fueling first, I notice. Shelton was deserted. I passed a man walking his small dog and a couple of cars. I only did 2 miles due to a lack of time and energy.

I’m reminded of Matthew 5:16 today:  In the same way, let your good deeds shine out for all to see, so that everyone will praise your heavenly Father. I’ve written about shining before.  Here’s another aspect.  Sometimes our shine has nothing to do with us. Neither Rex nor the sidewalks did anything to deserve their particular luster other than being unruffled and even. At times, we need an external light source to bring out our brilliancy and showcase our “finish”, so to speak. The ability to shine means the light has a smooth surface to reflect off of.

As Christians, we know without Him we can do nothing, but if we do good deeds in His strength coupled with a good attitude, that’s a different story. We provide a path of sorts, shining for God, when we do the Lord’s will. Our calm temperament while serving others points to God. Let me be perfected more and more into Your image, Father, to draw others to You.

Leave a Reply

