Day 21

calendar-pages

Keeping up with the Janathoners, I worked out before breakfast. I did 40 minutes of kettlebells.  Sparkpeople.com says that equates to 800 calories, putting my starting calorie allotment at 2,000.  I’m skeptical.

Today also marks the end of my 3-week no junk food challenge.  How did I do?  Certainly not perfect. Well, I learned a few things.  I’m still at a 4-lb. weight loss, which I’m happy about.

I feel better without junk food. My energy stays steady and my face is clearer. My attitude has improved. I feel like I’m supporting my best self.

I can’t drink coffee with only milk, unless under duress.  A spoonful of sugar helps the medicine go down.  Mary Poppins said so.

Too much coffee causes me to drag in the afternoon like a curly-haired slug.

I will avoid salty foods, as they maketh me a sponge.

I will add dark chocolate back. Too long a separation, my sweet dusky friend.

That being said,I need to mind my sweet tooth. There’s a coworker who brings in cookies, and gives me a half every single day. I can save those for Zac like I did during this season. I don’t know that I’ll ever conquer la dent sucree, but I can satisfy it with fruit most of the time.

This is a lifestyle I’d like to continue. I want to indulge in the occasional burger with fries or handful of potato chips.  I have 6 lbs. to go to get to my goal weight.  Staying motivated is the key.

How are your New Year’s resolutions going?

Leave a Reply

