Tuesday Time

I woke up groggy this morning. After reading about the priestly garments in the book of Exodus, I headed outside. Our weather ahs been positively springlike. Dry and balmy for several days. I took to the means streets of Shelton and ran 2 miles with fartleks on well-lit blocks.  Hey, fartleks are real. Look it up.

At work today, I found myself looking at the clock.  I composed this haiku.

Hurry, clock! Don’t stop.
Why do you move so slowly?
Hands drag on your face.

As I dive deeper into records management, both in the natural and online, I come across unique items.  Like the Mazama pocket gopher.  Discovered in the Mt. Mazama area in Oregon, this little guy is now a threatened species.

Ain't he cute?

Ain’t he cute?

It actually was part of a public works project file, a feasibility study to save their habitat.  They like prairies, by the way. They dig up earth and help plant diversity.  Wikipedia.com says so.

What caught my eye here is the name Mazama.  My dad used to be part of the Mazama mountaineering group.  They climbed mountains. I’m related to my dad, who was a Mazama. Mt. Mazama held the first group of Mazama pocket gophers.  That means only 2 degrees of separation keep me and the gophers apart.  Huzzah!

saycheesegopher_000

I also found a treasure trove of Washington State digital archives.  The town of Marcus, Washington, had a complete list of ordinances from the town’s founding in 1910.  Guess what #4 was?  Okay, I’ll tell you. In October of 1910, the town ordinance passed a law for the taxing and killing of dogs.  I’m guessing strays, because right before that, they passed an ordinance about keeping alleys free of debris and safe. A couple of years later, in July of 1912, they got all over children loitering outside at night. They specifically prohibited it. Loitering children.  Marathon kick-the-can games:  The universal problem.

Time is an illusion. I like discovering things.  However, though these things are new to me, others knew about them already. What has been, will be again. There is nothing new under the sun. Not even pocket gophers.

History merely repeats itself. It has all been done before. Nothing under the sun is truly new. – Ecclesiastes 1:9

One thought on “Tuesday Time

Leave a Reply

