Tags

, , , ,

background_moses_tabernacle

This morning I headed out for a run after Saturday chores.  The freezing fog rose slowly around me. It actually felt like January. I managed a 3-mile out and back. The old bod is adapting to working full-time.  Yay!.

It’s January 31.  I thought it would never get here. Janathon:  complete.  I missed blogging one day, but since I started a new job among several other events, I consider it pretty good.

I’ve lost about 5.5 lbs. this month. I changed up my eating habits considerably and am so glad of it.  More on that at a later date.

Today, I read Exodus 40.  Moses commissioned skilled workmen such as Bezalel (why don’t kids get names like that anymore?) and co. to finish up work on the Tabernacle.  God outlined very specific instructions on how to craft it – gold-encased mercy seaet, bronze lamps, priestly ephod encrusted with 12 precious stones. Bezalel completed all the pieces, Moses put it all together.  I guess some assembly was required. Once Moses finished placing all the holy furniture and setting up the animal-skin tent, something marvelous occurred.

Then the cloud covered the Tabernacle, and the glory of the Lord filled the Tabernacle. Moses could no longer enter the Tabernacle because the cloud had settled down over it, and the glory of the Lord filled the Tabernacle. – Exodus 40: 34-35

Every other time I’ve read these chapters about the creation of the Tabernacle items and the portable dwelling itself, my mind drifts.  I mean, we have very little in our churches today that resemble such ancient equipment.  The craftsmanship sounds fabulous, intricate and worthy of God.

But we’re talking about God here, the Lord of all creation, original Master of the universe.  He gave explicit instructions about the Tabernacle’s dimensions and the things to travel with it.  How does the infinite find a home in a tent made of animal skins, which has rather limited square footage?  Why should the eternal divine, who sits on a throne of rainbow-colored gems, hang out here?  By here, I mean Earth, which is prone to dirt and decay and all kinds of crunchy insects. Yes, the portable dwelling contained some articles of gold and precious stones.  However, not enough to warrant housing such majesty, to my way of thinking.

This Tabernacle, this temporary dwelling, became a tangible, visible reminder to the Israelites that Yahweh had come down from the heavenly realms to lead them to the Promised Land. His presence hovered over the Tabernacle during the day, and appeared as fire inside the pillar of cloud by night (Ex. 40:37-38). Since God had a home among them now, he planned to stay. His guidance and care continued though the journey was long. I’m reminded that once I accepted Christ into my heart and let Him lead, He came to stay inside me as well.  God’s presence inside me sanctifies this temple of flesh and continues to guide me every day.

