Superman isn’t Brave

A hero?

A hero? Photo by newlifecenters.org

Grandpa: Superman isn’t brave.

Angus: Did you take your pills this morning?

Grandpa: [chuckles] You don’t understand. He’s smart, handsome, even decent. But he’s not brave. No, listen to me. Superman is indestructible, and you can’t be brave if you’re indestructible. It’s people like you and your mother. People who are different, and can be crushed and know it. Yet they keep on going out there every time.

This is from one of our favorite movies, “Angus”.  It came out 20 years ago but the theme of being yourself, no matter the cost, remains. I don’t want to talk about the beauty of being who you were made to be.  Not today.

I want to talk about being brave, period.

Some of you know Ruby has been sick for nearly 4 days now.  She came down with a fever on Saturday afternoon.  I was upstairs, reading a book and didn’t know.  I came down to get a drink and found her on the couch, snuggled under a blanket with a pillow holding her head.

“I’m sick,” she said.

Got that, sweet girl. Cue Mommy-guilt.

Lots of kind friends and family have been praying for her.  Heck, us as her parents have, too.  Though I must admit as parents it’s usually easier to worry rather than pray.  What, they’re not the same thing?  Worry-prayers of the “oh-God-I-hate-to-see-her-suffer” variety probably don’t get it done. We’ve held her and watched “Black Beauty” more than we’d ever wanted to.  I’ve read several chapters of “Farmer Boy” to her.  Almanzo eats his way through that book.  I’ve had to wipe away drool a few times. Anyway. My question is:  What if you don’t get healed right away? What then?

I know friends who have regular pain.  Others have chronic illnesses, yet they rise up and get on with it. They don’t stay down in self-pity.  Sometimes they need some encouragement. They ask for extra prayer when things feel especially rough.  But they don’t give up. See, Superman only has one weakness:  kryptonite.  And, well, Lois Lane, but that’s a different story.  He doesn’t fear sickness, or bullets, or tall buildings.

You know what?  Those steadfast people inspire me. They keep me pushing on when life feels monotonous and like nothing will ever change. They show me I have to keep looking up. My help comes from God alone.

This morning, as I watch the sun edge over the horizon, it’s a new day. The sky is patched in pale gold and I’m reminded that the sun still lives behind all the rain. I feel hope and I pray healing for all those I know who suffer in spirit and/or body.  God sees your bravery and He will breathe new strength into you.

My help comes from the LORD, who made heaven and earth! – Psalm 121:2

One thought on “Superman isn’t Brave

  1. I like that movie quote, I think that’s a good motto for me today. You can’t be brave if you’re indestructible. Instead be Fireproof and allow the Lord to put His armor on you. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

