Dump Your Gifts

I managed a 2-mile run today.  It felt so good to get out and run.  I knew I could put those donuts to good use.

So today, I got another random surprise.

Our receptionist/permitting guru came to my cube.

“Your dad’s here,” she said with a smile.

I felt alarm at first.  Was he alright?  What happened?

I got up fast and walked the short distance to the front of the office.

“Susan!” he greeted me.

And then I remembered:  I haven’t seen anyone from my original family since I got sick, last Thursday. He stopped by to check on me.  It was very sweet. I showed him my cubicle. He admired its spacious quality.  The skylights in the office do let in a lot of natural light. I didn’t mention the baby spider encounter of last week.  Nor will I.

“Dad, I’d like you to meet my boss, Jenny (not her real name),” I said.

“Pleased to meet you, Dad,” my boss said to Dad.

Dad, much to my great embarrassment, praised me to the skies.

“Susan has great abilities.  She’s used them in Portland and she’s using them again now,” he told Jenny.

“Well, we’re glad to have Susan.” Jenny smiled at me. Jenny’s already convinced I’m the best woman for the job. I smiled back, but wished I could sink into the floor. I didn’t invite my dad back into the thick of things so he could talk me up as my personal PR agent.

Dad met my first boss, from when I worked on the shelter.

“Pleased to meet you, Dan,” Dad said.  “Great to put a name with a face,”

They chatted about Shelton Point Park, as Dad had spotted the concept board outside Dan’s office. It’s a new roadside park to be completed this summer, out Highway 3 towards Allyn. They discussed city planning. I realized anew how many subjects Dad has knowledge of.

After a few minutes, he turned back to me.

“Well, Susan.  I’d better get back to work.  Time for you to dump out your gifts,” he said. His hazel eyes twinkled behind his glasses.

It hit the three of us as kind of a funny expression. We all chuckled and said our goodbyes.

But the more I think about it, he’s right. Dad has spoken some great gems over the years, but this is my current favorite. At first, the thought of dumping anything sounds haphazard.  Even unethical, as in illegal dumping. I hear about it all the time at work now. But dumping out your gifts, pouring them on where they’re most needed, is our duty to those around us. We don’t need to hold back when we know what God has made us to do. We can’t hoard them, doubtful we have anything good to share. We just need to unload as much as we can. Then God can breathe on it and give it life.

2 thoughts on “Dump Your Gifts

Leave a Reply

