Living and Learning

Can I just say TGIF? Had to put that out there, first of all.

I learned a few things this week. Be warned:  this list is entirely random.

First, teaching the K-5th class on Wednesday taught me that armpit farts cross all gender, racial and social classes. And if you draw a picture of a rhino pooping out roses, you’re due to get busted. That’s all I’m going to say about it.

Poop not available. Image by maggiemcneill.wordpress.com

Poop not available. Image by maggiemcneill.wordpress.com

The second thing happened at work. I was talking to one of our engineers and I used the word kerfuffle.

“Is that a word?” he looked at me, doubt all over his face.

I assured him it was. I love words. Some are just more fun to say than others, kerfuffle being one of them. And he learned himself something new.

I also picked up a new word:  anadromous.

a·nad·ro·mous
əˈnadrəməs/
  1. (of a fish, such as the salmon) migrating up rivers from the sea to spawn.
    salmon swimming upstream
Since so many of our local creeks have salmon in them, it figured prominently in reports I’ve been perusing. Now, I need to find a way to work it into conversation into normal conversation.  Like “Traffic today made me feel like I followed an anadromous route to work.” Bam!  Done.
The third thing is something I’ve noticed with work contracts.  The city asks for “camera-ready” plans and specifications.Hmm. Which always makes me think of this
Last, but certainly not least, in recent days I’ve been tasked to search for some “historical documents”. Which reminds me of this
Leonard Nimoy, of the original “Star Trek” cast, died today.  Rest in peace, Spock. You created a legacy of historical documents that influenced generations of Americans and people around the world.
To all my readers: Live long and prosper.
One thought on “Living and Learning

Leave a Reply

