Boss Run

Yesterday at lunch, I ran with one of my bosses.  I say “one of” because truly I have several.

Over the past couple of weeks, we’d chatted about our running experiences.  He likes to run at lunch time.

“It’s nice to get out of the office and into the fresh air,” he said.

He runs about a 3-4 mile out-and-back route. Dear readers, due to the time constraints of my job, church obligations and helping to run a household, and changing to a low-carb diet, I haven’t done much running.  Now you know the ugly truth.

“I always love company.  Great to have someone to talk to,” he said. He smiled encouragement.

I pondered whether I should accept his invitation.  What if I couldn’t make it?  Maybe it would be too weird to run with a supervisor. What if all I could do afterwards was sit at my desk the rest of the afternoon, like a salted slug, muttering one-word responses to any coworker inquiries?

I decided to risk it.  I’m in this bizarre “why not?” space in life.  Let’s face it. I’m not getting any younger.

Yesterday proved sunny and warm. The cherry blossom petals filled the air with their icy pink scent as they drifted down. We chatted about this and that. He told me his job history and I listened, more than happy to conserve air. We found an easy camaraderie, lost in the beauty of the day.

Did I mention his route is almost all hills? Gulp.

We ran up one road, hit a flat and ran up another incline. The sun warmed us quickly. Then, down another San Francisco-style oblique. Up and down. I did better than I thought. But I realized something as I walked, breathing hard, mounting yet another slant:  it was fun. It’s been a long time since I’ve enjoyed running. I had no preconceived ideas of how things would go. I didn’t even know the boss very well – still don’t. But we got to share our love for running and get outside.

Fun needs to be on our dockets. We can’t keep bumping it off the list and expect to stay happy. I submit to you that adults still need recess.  Have you had yours today?

One thought on “Boss Run

Leave a Reply

