Stealing Shade

Definitely not them. Image by www.geekalerts.com

(Not these.)

The other morning, the sun shone in my eyes.  Temporarily blinded, I dug my sunglasses out of my purse and shoved them onto my face. There. Except they felt funny.  Too tight a bit heavier. But these were the same ugly white sunglasses Ruby picked out for me two summers ago, when I lost the two pairs previous to that.

I didn’t give it another thought. I only have a five minute commute. I tossed the glasses back into the leather cavern and got on with the day.

A few days later, I pulled them out again. And down in my purse I spied another pair of sunglasses:  mine.  Uh oh. I took a good look at the impostors in the light.  Metal medallions adorned the top of the arms instead of “rhinestones”. Then it hit me:  I’ve got somebody else’s shades.

Lest you think me a klepto, I have a little girl who likes to go through my purse.  She wears my glasses. She tries on lipstick and I keep a huge stash of gum for anyone who asks. It could be I picked up the glasses off the chairs at church, thinking they belonged to me, and Ruby had simply left them out after trying them on.

It made me wonder what else I “put on” because I think it belongs to me.  My washed-away sins? Grudges? Negative mindsets about people or situations or even myself? I don’t want to view life in shadow because a sick thing has been a part of me for so long.

So…anyone lose their sunnies?

Leave a Reply

