I found myself full of wondering today.  I find myself in that “what’s next?” place at work as I wait to hear on my new job duties. What’s truly required of me at work? At church? In parenting? In wifing, if I may spawn a new word. Am I doing enough? Am I doing the right thing at the correct time with pure motives?

Maybe. Maybe not.

I’ll never be perfect, despite all my best efforts. I’m human. I will fall short (Romans 3:23). Like when I was a kid and made fun of the cross-eyed girl in my neighborhood. Her dad called me on it. Humiliations galore. But I digress.

So what’s a gal (or guy) to do?

Micah 6:8 says:  No, O people, the Lord has told you what is good,
    and this is what he requires of you:
to do what is right, to love mercy,
    and to walk humbly with your God.

Which sounds an awful lot like “do unto others as you would have them do to you” (Luke 6:31), don’t it? Considering others as better than ourselves, serving one another.

So…if I were to paraphrase Micah…

Let your conscience – God’s internal hall monitor – be your guide. Extend mercy to your fellow man or woman as much as possible. Walk with God, don’t run ahead or lag behind. Listen for His voice and just do it.

Micah makes it sound so simple. However, I know it won’t be easy. I will endeavor to put these into action.  I’m gonna mess up.  But grace!

