Tags

, , ,

I made the cookies for my maddening coworker. As I stirred the glutinous, gelatinous mass that would soon become blissful bites of bodaciousness, my heart softened. I realized that I wasn’t mad at him anymore. I forgave him.  Haven’t we all said things we (much) later wished we hadn’t? I know I’ve said things I truly shouldn’t have. In fact, I hoped he really liked the cookies. Yes, what he said bothered me. But did it really matter, in the end, what he thought?

See, we’re on mission here on planet Earth. Despite everything, the directive remains:  Aliens in a foreign land, spread the love of Jesus. Doesn’t matter if the soil is fertile or fallow. Fall down on the job?  Get up and go on. Keep trying. It’s a learn-as-you-go project. What we never vocalize is we aim to emulate Jesus to help others and somehow end up changed ourselves. The love of God gets in us through the chinks, bit by bit, and we become someone we don’t even recognize anymore when we look in the mirror. We’re becoming whole, like Pangaea on rewind, sewn together with God’s relentless love.

Oh, and one more thing. As we go along, we’re gonna get scraped. People will reject us, perhaps even mock us. This applies to Christians and unbelievers. We will do exactly the wrong thing at the worst possible time. We’ll “open mouth, insert foot” more times than we care to admit. But we’re still on point, standing watch, doing our best. Those mistakes we made become tools the Father’s loving hands uses to shape us and give hope to others.

So I’m up for bringing my A-game every day to work, despite the naysayers about my job performance. In the end, it’s between me and God. It’s never been about them anyway.

And all of this is a gift from God, who brought us back to himself through Christ. And God has given us this task of reconciling people to him. – 2 Corinthians 5:18

