Tags

, , ,

So I recommend having fun, because there is nothing better for people in this world than to eat, drink, and enjoy life. That way they will experience some happiness along with all the hard work God gives them under the sun. – Ecclesiastes 8:15

coffee artAs I sit here nursing another half cup of coffee, I consider Solomon’s wisdom. Somewhere along the way, Solomon realized that all work and no play makes for unhappy people. I’m slowly learning the value of fun. I’m understanding that it needs to be part of my life like fiber and exercise.

Kids understand this.  They routinely goof off.  Ruby makes getting ready for school something fun, with funky hairstyles and bizarre clothing choices.  Animal print head to toe?  Why not!  Zac comes up with puns all.day.long. He thinks it’s hilarious.  To each his own. Adults, we give up this ability somewhere between graduating high school and looking for a job.

Lately, work has been a little tense.  I’m still striving to understand all that my newly mashed-up position entails. Communication breaks down sometimes. People have expectations of me that I know not of. It’s important to laugh at myself and get past mistakes made. I am not perfect, despite all the indicators. Insert snicker here.

Fun is about being in the moment.  It’s enjoying where you are, who you’re with, what you’re doing. It’s tied up with gratefulness and joy and happiness.  It’s not a stand-alone thing. It oils the gears of our spirit. It’s okay to enjoy life. You don’t have to be a grownup all day, every day.

Today, I pray you have fun.  May you spot the fun opportunities that God shows you. Some of you are better at it than others. Remember, it’s only today for a little while.  Let’s make it count.

