In Defense of Men

Yesterday, I got a new tablet for work projects. It has Dragon Speak loaded on it, possibly the coolest name for software ever. The software has AI in it.  It dictates what you say, learning your cadences and intonation, and gets better over time.  I can hardly wait to use it while poring over boxes of records. It’ll save me a ton of typing.

As our IT guy was configuring it, we had a conversation. He mentioned he’d done a lot of research on the differences between the sexes. He found it all very fascinating.

“You women, you’re so much smarter than us,” he said.

“I don’t know about that,” I said.

“Oh, you are,” he replied. “You have better processors. You’re the more evolved version of men.”

He chuckled.

“You know, Adam was made first and Eve was taken out of Adam’s side. Women cry, ‘Not fair!’ But I say you’re the next revision of humans.”

“You mean the latest rev?” I asked.

“Right. You’re the better version.”

I sat silent for a moment while he tappity-tapped, configuring my computer to talk to the tablet.

He turned to me.

“I think eventually, men will fade away.  Women are so much better, You’re more evolved.”

Suddenly, I knew we had left this planet.  What?! How did we get here? Anyway. I quick-stepped through the Bible in my mind.  Nope.  Nothing about an annihilation of an entire sex.

“Uh,” I said, trying to be kind because he meant it in a complimentary fashion. “I don’t think so. I don’t see men disappearing any time soon.”

I understood his point.  Truly.  Men and women have different strengths.  Men have greater upper body strength; women excel at lower body work. Men, for the most part, can run faster.  Women do better at endurance running.

But it’s more than that.

Men have been getting the short straw for a long time.  I think it’s time someone cadged a defense for them.  In my limited experience, I will attempt to outline the male strengths I’ve seen displayed. This blog is by no means a perfect effort.

Those of you older than 20 will probably remember the old computer statement WYSIWYG:  what you see is what you get. For the most part, men leave out the subtext and subterfuge in relationships.  Nothing is hidden. Thank God.  I have enough of that in my female friendships. “What did she mean by that? Does she think I’m fat?” Men say what they think or they say nothing at all.  You don’t have to guess. If they didn’t say it, it isn’t there. At least, not for them.

Men have a great capacity to allow for differences. Even if you have a disagreement, they will still treat you the same. If it comes to blows, maybe not.  But by and large, if you don’t see eye to eye, they don’t take it personally. They stay rational. They will still talk to you.  Women, we’re all about taking stuff personally. We want everyone to like us and that means all our viewpoints, too. Men seem to be able to allow a bit of latitude in relationships. Unity without conformity.

Men take great risks.  They show courage. They serve, they protect, they lay down their lives and desires for others. We see this most vividly in those who enter the armed forces. They give up a chunk of their lives – possibly all of it – to preserve their country. It’s amazing. I’m not saying women don’t join up and serve as well; however, men still make up the bulk of our nation’s defense.

No sex has it all together. Men have weaknesses, too. But let’s celebrate the men in our lives today. They offer great steadiness when we women become too emotional. Thank God.

One thought on “In Defense of Men

Leave a Reply

