Christmas in June

For a child is born to us,
    a son is given to us.
The government will rest on his shoulders.
    And he will be called:
Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God,
    Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace. – Isaiah 9:6

I want one!  Image from stagetecture.com

I want one! Image from stagetecture.com

I came across this passage in my Bible reading plan today.  At first I thought:  this is for Christmas.  It’s out of place here, us on the cusp of summer.

But is it?

On second thought, I’m rather glad to meditate on it now.  I need to remember the Christ child when the kids are whiny. I should recall The Babe when Jonathon and I communicate clumsily.  It’s good to think about Advent when things at work get explosive. Not me and my dusty boxes, mind you, but other departments. And…to remember wearing black while unfurling the ancient scrolls from the wastewater treatment plant of 1977 will net you a dust bunny-covered midsection. But I digress.

So I’m thinking about the holidays, albeit briefly. I’m thankful God gave Jesus to us. Because of Him we have hope, not just at Christmas time, but every day.

Leave a Reply

