Running Retraining

Image from funcrisp.com

                  Image from funcrisp.com

I got up this morning, determined to put some miles on my sneakers.  The morning air held its hush. Nothing stirred save the birds. I shrugged out of my pajamas and into my gear. It’s fair to say running on mornings like these tastes better than chocolate.  If you run, you get it. Although, to be totally frank (not Frank), I’ll never say no to a piece of good quality dark chocolate.

I’ve been taking the big hill in my usual route way too fast, causing me to stop and walk a couple of times while tackling it.  I found a nice, slow groove today and stayed in it. I breathed in the piney air and marveled at God’s creation.

I’ve struggled lately with realizing the old life I had of full-time “momming” is dead. I’ve felt a period of mourning, at times. Yes, I’m still a mom.  I make lunches on the weekend and hang out with kids.  Jonathon and I have semi-regular date nights.  But I can’t take care of everything like I used to.  I have to find new ways to show my love.  Since I have so little free time, they might take more thought or money than before.

Back to running. Today, I felt like I could run forever.  But I stopped just past McDonald’s.  I retied my right shoe, which always seems to come loose, and turned around. Six months in, I’m still trying to retrain my thinking and see the good things about working. I like my job and I enjoy the people I work with, very much. The paycheck helps quite a bit also.  We have more financial freedom now than we’ve ever had. Plenty of records management and purchasing challenges await me on the job.

I’m starting to realize that it’s one day at a time, one good decision at a time.  All I can accomplish is what I have time for today.  And that has to be alright. Right foot, left foot, breathe. I can live in this moment and make the most of it. It will pay dividends, if I let perseverance do its work.

And not only this, but we also exult in our tribulations, knowing that tribulation brings about perseverance; and perseverance, proven character; and proven character, hope; and hope does not disappoint, because the love of God has been poured out within our hearts through the Holy Spirit who was given to us. – Romans 5:4

Leave a Reply

