David’s Triumph

davidI’ve been battling some big-time discouragement lately. Trying not to let it get the best of me.  Today, though, it’s winning.

I read Psalm 18 – again – on the Bible reading plan.  We’re hitting up Psalms for the second time.

I love you, Lord;
    you are my strength.
The Lord is my rock, my fortress, and my savior;
    my God is my rock, in whom I find protection.
He is my shield, the power that saves me,
    and my place of safety.
 I called on the Lord, who is worthy of praise,
    and he saved me from my enemies. – Psalm 18: 1-3

Now, I don’t know about you, but I don’t have enemies.  At least, not enemies who want to kill me or string me up from the nearest tree.  The giants I encounter most often look like discouragement, frustration, loneliness, anger and depression. While David’s psalm goes on to talk about a heavenly intervention from God Himself,

He opened the heavens and came down;
    dark storm clouds were beneath his feet.
 Mounted on a mighty angelic being, he flew,
    soaring on the wings of the wind. – Psalm 18:9-10

I’ve never experienced such a visitation. At least, not that I remember. Perhaps David’s using poetic license here, but I get where he’s coming from.  God did deliver David from his enemies, over and over again.  He showed Himself faithful.

Fast forward to modern times. Should we somehow engender hatred in the heart of another person, thus creating an enemy, Jesus has something to say about that, too.

“But I say, love your enemies! Pray for those who persecute you!” – Matthew 5:44

We don’t get to stand on their necks or scatter their bones or destroy any chance they may have of future descendants.  More’s the pity. But we certainly can destroy discouragement.  We definitely must stand on the neck of depression and frustration, driving it far from us by repentance and seeking God’s help. We have an obligation to fight loneliness and and anger with the knowledge of Christ’s love and forgiveness extended towards us on a daily basis.

So now I’m reminding my soul today, too. I believe if we will do our part, praying, worshiping and seeking the Lord in times of desperation, He will meet us there.  Not with trumpets and rainbows  – although I wouldn’t put it past Him – but with His presence.  He will rescue us.

Leave a Reply

