Tags

, , , , ,

You’ll be happy to know I haven’t been running.  Done plenty of kettlebell swings, high pulls, and situps, among the favorites. I’ve taken a few walks, some rather strenuous for the ol’ calf.  I’m feeling it today. But the weather has been perfect, sunny and breezy and 75. I just miss being outside, with the wind in my face, tongue hanging out…Oh wait.  That’s my neighbor’s dog.

Anyway.

I’ve iced the sore muscle.  I’ve elevated it.  I’ve rubbed it and talked to it.  It’s a bit stiff and swollen. I’m sure I’d get better much faster if I had one of these babies:

Image by m.inmagine.com.

                         Image by m.inmagine.com.

Imagine the possibilities!  What a grand entrance I would make, liveried servants toting me upon their sturdy shoulders.  I’d definitely need some shinier duds to pull it off.  Can’t wear Dockers and a knit top if you’re arriving in that kind of style. I suppose it might get rather tight, maneuvering the palanquin between the narrow gray cubicle passageways at work. Going up and down the stairs at city hall would prove rather grand, don’t you think?  I’d definitely need some sort of envoy in front, calling out, “Make way for Susan! She who has injured her leg needs perfect rest!” Even more dicey to try it at home, I reckon.  I can hear the laughter now.

This pipe dream brought to you by coffee, the movie “Lucy” and pizza.  Thank you.

But life doesn’t work that way, at least not out here in the U.S. of A. We don’t have potentates or despots or even kingdoms in any official capacity.  Nobody I know owns even a rickshaw. I’ll just keep taking my meloxicam (Gesundheit!), praying and doing the eeny stretches laid out for me by Dr. D. I’ll have to exercise and grow the virtue patience – a fruit of the Spirit –  even as I don’t exercise my legs.

But the Holy Spirit produces this kind of fruit in our lives: love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control. There is no law against these things! – Galatians 5:22-23

