Tags

, , , , , , ,

payday

Today is payday in our household.  With Jonathon’s job at Concordia University, it’s the “last working day of the month”.  That always hit me as funny.  If you’re not working, what are you doing?  Then I remembered:  holidays, weekends and such.  Makes sense.

My payday at the city falls on a different day of the month. We have an option for a draw of up to 40% of our monthly salary on the 20th of each month.  I opted out of that.  I like getting the whole check on the 5th, or thereabouts.  For one shining moment, all that money sits in our account, basking in the glow of a job well done.

I’m going to say right now that if I didn’t get paid, I wouldn’t work. Sure, I get other perks from working.  I get to use my brain on a regular basis.  I mix and mingle with some of the nicest, most dedicated people I’ve met here in Shelton. They truly care about the well-being of the city.

In order to work, I updated my wardrobe.  As a stay at home mom, my clothes consisted of jeans, t-shirts, fleece and boots.  Summer time I migrated to tank tops and shorts.  I had dresses and skirts for church. Oh, and running/workout gear. That made up the bulk.  Granted, my workplace is rather casual, so I didn’t need to do terribly much. Now, I have my clown pants (thanks, Ruby!), flats, heels, cardigans, blouses, etc. I have more grown-up outfits than I had before.

I also keep to a schedule.  I do something physical before I head in to work. I have to be in by a certain time.  I take lunch at the same time every day, pretty much.  I have routine duties that come up daily, weekly and monthly.  Other duties as assigned also come into play.

All of this to say my time and effort is worth something.  I’m all in at work. I give what I have and do my best.  I’m still learning and I know I have a ways to go before I grasp the entirety of my position.  I like the challenge and I enjoy the people.

But my job, with all of its perks like a free designated parking space, wouldn’t be worth it to me if it didn’t provide monetary compensation. I left free time, kettlebells, writers group and time with my family behind in order to pursue this path. Paydays make the early mornings and missed connections all seem worth it.

It’s the same in the spiritual world.  The ultimate payday for Christians is going to heaven. I guess I consider it God’s retirement plan. The payoff of Christianity is Jesus’ presence.  Whether your circumstances change or not, He is always with you.  Investing your heart with Him yields big dividends. Meditating on His word brings peace.  Seeking God’s face adds to your understanding and often wisdom.

As I continue working, I will keep on investing there.  The money I make will go to living expenses. I will also keep investing in the Lord and His kingdom.  I will keep my eyes open to the perks God provides. I’ll keep my eyes on the first prize of someday spending eternity with Jesus.

So we don’t look at the troubles we can see now; rather, we fix our gaze on things that cannot be seen. For the things we see now will soon be gone, but the things we cannot see will last forever. – 2 Corinthians 4:18

