Tags

, ,

Today, friends, is my birthday. I’m more than halfway through my life.  Well, if Jesus tarries and the creek don’t rise.  I leave for work in a few minutes, after I clean up the cat puke in the bathtub. Seriously.

I just want to take a moment to say thanks. I’ve always been an analytical person, so thinking about things hasn’t been a problem.  As I sit here, in midlife, I realize I haven’t been the best friend, wife or mother I could have been.  I’ve had hangups and unforgiveness and misunderstandings and you name it.  I can see where I’ve fallen short.

I want to do better.  Heck, I try to do better.  But I don’t always succeed.  Despite me loving words and using them as a tool to express things, I struggle to find the right way to say how I feel.  I wrestle with speaking the truth in love.

I read Psalm 32 today in the Bible reading plan.  This verse stuck out today:

The Lord says, “I will guide you along the best pathway for your life.
    I will advise you and watch over you.
Do not be like a senseless horse or mule
    that needs a bit and bridle to keep it under control.”

I want more of that, starting today. I can see God’s hand guiding me over the years, bringing opportunities my way and closing the door on others. I see His goodness and mercy even today. I’m grateful I’ve gotten to walk this earth for so long. However, I need to have greater discernment and discretion.  I want my ears opened. I need more than “just a little more Jesus”.  I need as much as He will give me.

Thanks to all of you who read faithfully, family and friends I know in real life and those whom I only get to know virtually. May God bless you today.

