Monday Morning Musings

A reminder.  Image by ryanmarciniak.com

A reminder. Image by ryanmarciniak.com

We have cooler air in Shelton today. A few hesitant clouds linger in the sky.  They seem unsure about whether to stick around or drift away. After a streak of 90+ degree days, it’s refreshing.  With a burn ban on in western Washington, our local 4th of July contained no fireworks.  The silence made me a little uneasy. A far cry from last year’s war zone.   Never mind that the air didn’t cool down anyway until after midnight.

Saturday, I did my first run/walk back since the calf injury.  I walked a mile, then ran a mile in spurts.  That is, I would walk a little, then run a couple of blocks.  I stuck to the flat part of town.  I wanted to go farther.  But I exercised restraint.  This time.

I’ve been thinking about trust lately. It’s a recurrent theme with me.

Trust in the Lord and do good.
    Then you will live safely in the land and prosper.
Take delight in the Lord,
    and he will give you your heart’s desires.Psalm 37:3-4

I have some items on my mental prayer list that haven’t come to pass yet. Circumstances get murky and onerous and I wonder about God’s plan in all of it.  I think if I can focus on trusting the Lord and doing good to those around me, it helps.  I want to delight in the Lord whenever I get the chance.  I want to see Him all day, even in the little things. This fresh breeze blowing over me, the sun sparkling in the tree tops, the colorful flowers blooming everywhere, remind me of the Lord’s goodness back to me.  I will keep hanging on and hanging in.

Leave a Reply

