Tags

, , , ,

Well, it’s Monday.  Again.  After a full weekend of parties and gatherings, I find myself wondering what this week will hold.

Guard me as you would guard your own eyes. Hide me in the shadow of your wings.  – Psalm 17:8

I think sometimes after we worship on Sunday, we head out to the regular world and leave God on the couch next to our Bibles.  “I got this, God.  I’ll see you when I get home.”  As if God were some kind of pet or lucky rabbit’s foot we can take or leave.

When you go through deep waters, I will be with you. When you go through rivers of difficulty, you will not drown. When you walk through the fire of oppression, you will not be burned up; the flames will not consume you. – Isaiah 43:2

I owned a lucky rabbit’s foot as a kid.  Maybe the rabbit could have used a little luck. Anyway, It looked like this.

rabbit's footI don’t remember ever praying to it, but I do remember wishing.  I do remember its soft, creamy fur.  It felt well in my hand. As a child of the 70s, I longed for a mood ring as well, but that’s another story.  A superstitious youth, I believed from an early age that old adage “step on a crack, break your mama’s back” and other chestnuts.  To put a positive spin on it, I realized early on that actions had consequences.  I perceived that doing dumb things would yield painful results.

The LORD is good, a strong refuge when trouble comes. He is close to those who trust in him. – Nahum 1:7

Last night, Jonathon and I watched a movie called “The Cobbler”.  Caution:  spoiler alert plus Adam Sandler. Yes, I’m a fan.  So sue me.  The movie is about a third-generation cobbler in New York who longs for a different life.  A shell of a man beaten down by the drudgery of the everyday, he considers selling his space and doing something new.  One day when his regular sole-stitching equipment breaks, he discovers he owns a magical piece of equipment that allows him – literally – to walk in another man’s shoes.  But that’s not the best part.  The best part is when he discovers his dad, played by Dustin Hoffman, has been right next door as the barber, wearing someone else’s shoes the whole time.  The look on Max (Adam Sandler’s face) could only be described as surprised by joy. His dad was there his whole life, watching over him.

And it hit me:  God was there all the time.

We never really leave the Lord behind. Perhaps it would be better to say He never leaves us behind. We may not be able to see Him all the time. God is still for us. We don’t need luck. We can turn around and find Him.  He will walk with us through the fire.  He never left our side.

