Tags

, , ,

Image by beamingnotes.com

     Image by beamingnotes.com

It’s just getting light out.  I can hear the rooster across town, greeting the morning.  He crows a faint – yet illegal – minor second.  His notes carry across the valley.

I have been reading the minor prophets lately in my Bible reading plan.  I am minor-propheted out, if there is such a term.  Psalm 61 followed

O God, listen to my cry!
    Hear my prayer!
From the ends of the earth,
    I cry to you for help
    when my heart is overwhelmed.
Lead me to the towering rock of safety,
  for you are my safe refuge,
    a fortress where my enemies cannot reach me.
 Let me live forever in your sanctuary,
    safe beneath the shelter of your wings! – Psalm 61:1-4

That’s where I am right now.  Overwhelmed.  Things spin all around me while I try to make sense of it all.

Yesterday, towards the end of a meeting, one of my supervisors passed out rocks with golden words painted on them. He dumped them all out of a coffee mug onto his lap, turning them face up. He held one up, examining it.

“These rocks have positive qualities on them.  You can keep them in your pocket and when you’re worried or stressed, you can hold onto them,” he said.

Then he doled out two each to the three of us.  To my immediate boss, he gave “willingness” and “prepared”.

“Those qualities exemplify you,” he said to her.

Next, my coworker at the front desk.

“You get ‘happy’ for your personality.  And I think you’re ‘brave’, too,” as she’s about to set off for a long road trip.

He searched through the rocks left on his lap.

“I have some Susan-rocks,” he said, smiling as he shuffled the pebbles.  I wondered what that meant. He must have felt my skepticism at this point.

He handed me my pair of stones.

I thanked him as I took them, smooth, flat-faced stones with neat gold script on them. “Faith” had rounded edges. However, “honest”, true to the essence itself, had a pitted, uneven cast. It didn’t rest easy in my palm.

If I were to be honest, I’d have to say my faith suffers at the moment. Reading Psalm 61 today, I’m reminded on whom I depend.  The small stones sitting face-up on my desk will help me to focus on the Lord. He is my refuge when my heart is overwhelmed.  He is the rock of safety. I hold onto Him.

