Tags

, , ,

I signed up for this.  It’s in 9 weeks.

What have I done?

In truth, of the 5 halfs I’ve run, this one has been my favorite.  Why?  Lots of reasons.  It’s held in Portland, my hometown. The race is run by people in goofy costumes – capes, leotards, masks. The energy from the thousands crowding the starting line is palpable. It’s a 5K, a 10K and a half marathon.  I can’t imagine running 13 miles in a cape and a diaper, but some brave souls do. The first few miles of the course go up, up, up into the West Hills of Portland.  Then it levels off. Then, glory to God, it heads downhill paralleling the Willamette.

I haven’t raced since September 2014.  It feels like a lifetime ago that I ran the You Go Girl Half. So much has changed with me going back to work full-time and all of it has played into running taking a backseat.  I can only hope all the minor injuries sustained over the last year and the subsequent recovery from them will help me be stronger this time around.

My base miles near negligible, I found a beginner plan to follow.  Am I beginner?  Not mentally.  But physically, at this point in time, yes. And I’m okay with that. Let the training begin.

Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a huge crowd of witnesses to the life of faith, let us strip off every weight that slows us down, especially the sin that so easily trips us up. And let us run with endurance the race God has set before us.
 – Hebrews 12:1

