Tags

, , , , ,

Kinda like this.

                    Kinda like this.

Today is the kids’ first day back to school for this year.  We’ve hit that inevitable bend in the road. Ruby is a little nervous. Her class is out in the portables this year, one of the “big kids” now. Zac is putting his best foot forward, with comments like, “Time to go sit for 6 hours while they drill things into you.”  Yeah.  Good times. Jonathon will be glad to be able to work non-stop for several hours.  Summer has proved a balancing act for him with both kids home all day.  As for me, I tend to hold  onto summer with both hands.  I will miss the sun, the warmth, the flowers and outdoor access that disappears almost entirely come November. In truth, it’s felt like fall for a couple of weeks now.  The sun isn’t so sunny.  And these heavy bouts of rain have ushered in cooler temperatures each day.

But…I ran out under the stars today.  Haven’t seen them in awhile. A robust half moon glowed above me.  The black sky turned deep velvet blue, then paler.  The rain had stopped.  I saw the sky.  And I remembered all the good things in this life. Each season brings its own unique blessings.

For everything there is a season,
    a time for every activity under heaven. – Ecclesiastes 3:1

