Tags

, , ,

twinrocksclouds  cousinsinsurf joy&isaacmermaids

On Thursday of last week, we drove down to Oregon for a late summer getaway.

It was great to go away and spend time with family.  My brother and his family came.  My dad and stepmom came.  We rented a house in Rockaway a few feet from the beach.  We could see and hear the ocean from the house.

beach&sun cousinsinsurftwinrockssun

We dug our toes in the sand and chased the chilly surf.  We strolled among the shops, searching for treasures. We ate pizza and bridge mix and stuffed French toast. We talked about WWII (Dad) and played cards. I did a 6-mile run along Hwy. 101 just before dawn.

As we hung out, talking and laughing, I realized again that the real treasure worth seeking was right in front me – nieces and nephews, Dad and his wife, brother and sister-in-law, my own little family.

