Jam Day

I didn’t write much last week for a number of reasons.

Here’s one

Not for the squeamish.

Not for the squeamish.

And another is that the week got crazy. As in, “Lunch hour, where art thou?” Between meetings and anti-harassment training, I was licked. So many protected classes these days, and Washington state is the leader in protecting the picked-on.  I figure pretty soon we’ll only be able to use sign language because our words will be considered too offensive.  Then again, perhaps we should stick to everyone’s health and the weather.

You might be wondering why my knee got all bunged up.  Well, I’ll tell you.  I was running in the early a.m. under cover of night.  I cut through a parking lot in order to avoid construction area and I fell.  Scraped my shoulder and jammed two fingers on my left hand

As I got up, I thought about quitting.  But I had a great pace going.  And I want to do well in the half marathon next month.  Which means line upon line, day after day of faithfully increasing by increments. I looked at my right hand. Blood oozed from a small abrasion on the palm. My pants had a hole in them where my right knee hit the pavement. Nothing broken.

I went on. Turns out the motor still ran and I finished well.

I contemplated going to the doctor.  I called but no appointments were available.

“You can always go to our walk-in clinic.  It opens at 11:00,” said the helpful scheduler.

Sitting around and waiting.  Hmm.  No thanks.

“Your finger’s not broken,” my engineering co-worker scoffed.

“You know what I’d do?

He smiled.

“I’ve got some duct tape in the back. I’ll tape your fingers together.  That’ll fix it.”

Uh, no thanks, MacGyver.

Now, 5 days later, my finger’s a little stiff but not swollen.  It took some time and patience.

Because even when you fall down, you can get back up.  I love running, and I believe it’s something I was born to do. Even if I mess up or get hurt, the gifts and abilities given to me remain the same. As much as I’d like to be perfect all the time, it’s simply not possible. I get discouraged.  It’s alright.  God’s purpose and love for me haven’t changed.

I will say the same to you:  get out and do what you were born to do.  If you fall, get back up.  Your Father will help you. You won’t even need duct tape.

For God’s gifts and his call can never be withdrawn. – Romans 11:29

Leave a Reply

