Breathing Room

Image by chillout-soulout-freakout.blogspot.com

Image by chillout-soulout-freakout.blogspot.com

It’s been raining and raining.  Not complaining, just a fact.  We’ve gotten over 7 inches of rain so far this month.  And it’s only November 2.

I looked out the window at the sky this morning.  The rain had stopped.  The sky, palest of blues, showed through a break in the clouds.  As if on cue, the birds started to sing.  The dark green trees poked up into the dawn.

We packed this weekend full.  We helped my brother and his family move most of Saturday, church most of Sunday, afternoon meetings and rehearsals led to dinner, an hour or so of leisure time, then bed. While I enjoyed participating in all of these things, it wasn’t restful.

Sometimes we need a break in our lives.  We need a little time to think, to slow down, to consider. Spying a crack in the clouds made me think of Selah, the phrase in the Bible that means “stop and listen”. I’m at a place where that seems like a good idea. New month, new direction.

I want to take a moment and thank everyone who reads this blog, and the subscribers.  I’ve been blogging for 5 years now.  Thank you for taking the time to read and sometimes “selah” my scribblings.  You bless me.

Also, I wanted to let you know I’m participating in National Novel Writing Month, or NaNoWriMo this year.  I’ve never done this before.  I’m a bit apprehensive.  I need to figure out a process…and a plot!  But you don’t need to know that.

I’m taking a little break from running.  I keep getting injured and methinks I have some strength imbalances.  I want to correct those.  I’m focusing on eating less and trying some new workouts. Running will return after this short message from our sponsors, or something.

I peered outside again, this time joined by Ruby and Chloe. The sky had revealed itself even more.  The baby blue expanse glowed. I took a deep breath. Time to get going.

Then Jesus said, “Come to me, all of you who are weary and carry heavy burdens, and I will give you rest.” – Matthew 11:28

Leave a Reply

