Tags

,

Snoopy-Thanksgiving

(source)

I woke up this morning filled with glee.  I didn’t have to hie myself to work.  I slept in until after 6:00 a.m.  That’s sleeping in for me, people.

I savored my coffee while watching the sun rise.  The bitter cold morning revealed a cloudless sky.  The sky turned sapphire, then pale azure, then golden. It was like being inside an icy jewelry box, with a lone sparkly star as the featured diamond.  My phone told me the outside temperature stood at 21 degrees.

I had to get out in it.  I pulled on my fleece hat and braved the chill.  The tundra landscape sparkled with a hard frost.  The last of the fall leaves crunched like yellow ice cubes underfoot.

As I ran, various smells accosted me.  Some early riser had a turkey roasting.  I smiled.  Then, bacon.  Then some other ambitious soul cooked up a green bean casserole.  I detected the aroma of the beans and its onion topping, getting golden brown in a toasty oven.

My frozen feet propelled me forward. The warm air in my lungs puffed out in front of me.  My hands, clenched from the cold, unfurled as the blood surged through my body and the sunshine hit my face.

I find myself filled with gratitude today.  I’m thankful to God for all the blessings he loads us with on a daily basis.  I’m thankful for family and friends, far and near.  Thank you, dear readers, for your interest.  You inspire me to continue. Happy Thanksgiving, everyone.

