NaNo Wrap-Up

nanowrimo

Greetings!  For those of you who wondered whatever happened with my November novel, wonder no more.

I did not achieve 50,000 words.  I reached 3200 words. Which, for me, is a lot.

Am I disappointed?  Yes.  Did I pick a poor month to try to write a novel in, with the Microsoft PACs notetaking and editing taking up a week all by itself?  Yes. Yes, I did.

I kicked myself quite a bit during this month about the lack of inspiration and dearth of words. I don’t like to fail. In my often black-and-white mindset, it seemed to make the dream of writing a novel even further out of reach. But…I reread my novelette on Sunday.  It has potential.  I’m just not sure where it’s headed yet.

I got this sweet bulk email from NaNoWriMo today:

Dear Writer,

You might not have hit 50,000 words this month, but you did something tremendously important:

  • You felt a story stirring in your heart, and you began to explore it.
  • You bravely signed up to make creativity a priority in November.
  • You created a beginning—a beginning that will lead to other beginnings.

Sometimes an illness or the demands of life can sidetrack a creative endeavor. Sometimes a story just isn’t quite ready to be written. But don’t despair. A novel travels the same labyrinthian and nettlesome path that its main characters do—overcoming setbacks, facing down gnarly antagonists, and then moving forward toward the light. You built a cocoon for your novel this November. A butterfly will emerge.

Yeah.  Thanks for the encourgement, NaNoWriMo!  Stuff happens.  Life keeps on moving even when we’d like it to stay put. I won’t give up. This novel and I have tremendous potential.

There is hope only for the living. As they say, “It’s better to be a live dog than a dead lion!” – Ecclesiastes 9:4

Leave a Reply

