Foot diagram from side

I went to the chiropractor yesterday.  As he worked on my shoulders (ouch!), I told him of the problem I’ve had since the half marathon.  The ball of my left foot hurts when I run, and after.

“Hmm,” he said as he twisted my neck from side to side.

Craaack! So alarming, those sounds. Frankly, this is the only way I think manipulation has any merit.

He turned his attention to my feet.

“Does it hurt here?”

Boy howdy.

“Yes!” I squeaked.  “Ow!”

“Odd place for a stress fracture,” he mused.

Nooo! I thought.

“I’ve felt this pain before, in the limited running I’ve done. I think you have a bit of nerve damage in your foot.”

He pushed and prodded some more on the very tender spots. Torture complete, he straightened up. The doctor looked at me.

“You need to get a golf ball or a tennis ball and roll your foot around on it.  Or get your husband to massage it.  Hey, you’re one flesh, right?” he joked.  Did I mention he’s a Christian?  Lovely man.

He went on.

“Your foot has adhesions.  You need to break them up, retrain the nerve endings.”

He paused.

“If you don’t, it will affect your knee, then your hip, and so on.  It’s all interconnected.”

I nodded.  I know this. The reminder helped, though.

For those of us who didn’t go to medical school, adhesions are: an abnormal union of membranous surfaces due to inflammation or injury.

Strangely, after the painful palpations, my foot felt better. His diagnosis gave me hope.  I went to the appointment discouraged about getting injured – again. Now, I knew what to do to promote healing.

I thought about how the Lord works on us.  He breaks up the adhesions on our hearts and spirits, those crusted-over places, full of bitterness and sorrow.  They need a firm but loving hand to break them up. He loves us too much to leave us without a solution. Also, we don’t want to damage other parts of the body of Christ because we hold onto old pain.  We can place our hearts into in the Father’s gentle care to heal them and bring about wholeness.

The human body has many parts, but the many parts make up one whole body. So it is with the body of Christ. – 1 Corinthians 12:12

 

