Tags

, , , ,

 

Christmas-Lights-07

Today is the shortest day of 2015. It’s clear and cold. I stepped out into the still-night a.m. and looked up at the sky. A sprinkling of stars winked at me. sassy after all the rain and even a bit of snow we got yesterday.

I ran in our neighborhood. The wet pavement glowed with the shine of stars, streetlights and neighbors festive Christmas lights. As my feet found their rhythm, I thought about darkness and light.

Today  marks the end of losing light for 2015. Tomorrow, we get an extra minute of light. One minute. Sixty seconds. Doesn’t amount to much. I liken it to putting pennies in a jar, one day at a time. It takes forever to get a pile together. But by summer time, we’ll have light until almost 10:00 p.m. Okay, we also get a boost from Daylight Savings Time in there, too.

 I’m encouraged that during this darkest time of year, Jesus shows up. You can argue that the Roman-era Christians moved the birth to winter in order to give people something to celebrate and to counteract the Winter Solstice celebrations of the Celtic peoples. I’m fine with that. Because Jesus truly does come to us when we’re at our lowest, bottomed out, completely whipped, backs flat on the mat of life.  The truth remains.
The people who walk in darkness will see a great light. For those who live in a land of deep darkness, a light will shine. – Isaiah 9:2
