Tags

, , , , , ,

2016.jpg

Happy New Year! I made it to midnight for the first time in at least a decade. Thank you, coffee! The old year handed off the baton, and we’re off! I’ve made a decision. A few of them, actually.

My first resolution:  No desserts in 2016.

I’m deserting desserts. This means no more cake, cookies, candy, chocolate, cupcakes, pudding, pie, Oreos, etc. for one year. Why? Because I don’t seem to have any “moderation” button. Or if I do, it’s small and hard to reach. And I have troll arms.

I want to reset. I want to rediscover the natural sweetness of fruit. I have a sneaking suspicion I am too emotionally invested in treats. I want to cut the cord. Like our pastor has said many times, change your thoughts and you can change your life. So…anyone care to join me on this? All are welcome.

Which leads to my second resolution: Lose 10 lbs.

I think this has been on my list, either in written form or as a mental note, for several years. Now that I’m working full-time, I don’t have  a ton of time to work out. This has resulted in less muscle mass. Ergo, I need to weigh less. In fact, it’s in my best interest to do so. I want to feel and look my best the majority of the time. I can’t serve others well 0r enjoy the moment if my pants barely button and I fear a wardrobe malfunction is imminent.

And the third:  Write every day.

It might be on this blog. It might be in the 2016 journal I bought yesterday. By the way, journal choices are astronomical now. Some have rubber covers. Some have sequined covers. Some are the size of ledgers, and some light up. Some have lined pages and some feature blank sheets. If I dug deeper, I’d probably find some that talk or play music upon opening them. Anyway, I need to write more this year.

But now, the fourth resolution:  Make time for fun.

Though a bit more nebulous, this extends into every area. I tend to be focused on tasks and goals 24/7. Part of having fun is letting go of control and trusting. Yes, it’s important to do what needs to be done; I’m not talking about shirking work. I plan to take care of obligations and the people I love, to the best of my abilities. But it also means embracing joy, thankfulness and goofiness as much as possible. I imagine this will infuse obligatory actions with a certain lightness, making them more like a game and less like drudgery.

I’m still pondering a Bible reading plan/devotional, whether to run races or not and a few other items. More on those as they become clear.

Dear friends, thanks so much for your faithful reading. May 2016 be your best year yet. I would love to hear your goals/desires for 2016. Feel free to comment below.

For I can do everything through Christ, who gives me strength. – Philippians 4:13

P.S. For those of you who like statistics, I ran 319 miles last year and worked out 265 times. Not as much as the past, but considering the huge change in lifestyle, I’m happy with it.

 

