Grappling with Groundhogs

We’ve been battling sickness at Casa Isham. Ruby got the ick on Sunday. It started out with a cough, then progressed into a debilitating fever. She’s watched Shark Boy and Lava Girl, Free Willy, Book of Kells and countless episodes of Avatar (animated series) and Martha Speaks (PBS animated series). Most of these shows I can’t stand. Book of Kells had spectacular animation. Avatar is imbecilic at best. Martha Speaks I love for the wordplay and vocab lessons. Shark Boy and Lava Girl have good…hair. I know all this because I stayed home from work with her yesterday afternoon.

My turn to keep healthy now. I started coughing yesterday and spiked a small temperature. However, things at work are hopping. I couldn’t – can’t – afford to be ill right at this moment. New responsibilities are breaking open, like springtime buds. Relationships and establishing reliability sit on the brink at this point.

So, I’m self-medicating with OTC drugs. I’m chugging cough drops like they’re going out of style. I’m drinking water and lots of it.

While we’re at it, Happy Groundhog Day! Punxsutawney Phil did not see his shadow today.

punx phil

He thinks we’ll have an early spring. I’m ready. I’m praying that spring is on its way, both in the natural and in other aspects of our lives as well. I want to see new growth bust out of the cold, unforgiving ground and our circumstances. Who couldn’t use some bright and cheerful crocuses right about now?!

But even if winter lasts 6 more long weeks, I know who has it all worked out.

For I am confident of this very thing, that He who began a good work in you will perfect it until the day of Christ Jesus.  – Philippians 1:6

 

Leave a Reply

