Unanticipated Risks

risk

Over the weekend, Ruby handed me a permission slip. Seems her school would be making a trip to the capitol in Olympia in March. Since Shelton lies in the shadow of Washington’s state capitol, all the kids get to go, at least once.

As I filled in the blanks about Ruby’s particulars – name, rank, serial number – the phrase “unanticipated risks” jumped out at me. The elementary school wanted to be sure that we wouldn’t hold them liable if anything should happen to my child.

Unanticipated risks encompasses a lot of territory. Frankly, just getting up in the morning entails a certain amount of risk. You could stub your toe getting out of bed. The eggs lurking in your fridge could provide a nasty case of food poisoning. Your best friend could decide they like someone else a little bit better than you, and drop you like a hot rock. You might get downsized at work or hit by a bus when you stepped off a curb during lunch break.

So many things could go wrong in the course of a day, and even more in the course of a lifetime. While I can appreciate the school’s concern, I want to focus on all that can go right. What if Ruby learns about government and has a great time doing it? What if I stumble upon a new and delicious way to cook eggs? What if my best friends and I grow a little bit closer, God willing and the creek don’t rise? What if I get a promotion and the bus that could have hit me stops and picks me up instead?

Ultimately, my best insurance policy is trusting in God’s goodness and faithfulness. After all:  And we know that God causes everything to work together for the good of those who love God and are called according to his purpose for them. – Romans 8:28

 

Leave a Reply

