Tags

, , , ,

Monday afternoon, I discovered this picture.

rainbow bacon

Ruby drew it. She even practiced multiplication on it. I had to use a calculator to double-check the math. It’s correct. She got that ability from her father. I like bacon. But I think Ruby likes it more. Five stacks of 64 slices? That’s a lot of pig, people.

Then I found this lying in the backseat.

b&w bacon.jpg

OK. I sense a theme here. The word bacon has four explanation points after it, surely more than enough emphasis. Should I be worried that the bacon has eyes and wears a smile in both drawings? I guess Ruby doesn’t struggle with eating things that have a face on them.

Is this subliminal? Keep in mind Ruby hasn’t said a thing about bacon -good, bad or indifferent – to anyone.

“It’s subliminal, Mom,” Zac informed me as we talked about the pictures. “She wants bacon.”

“I don’t think it’s subliminal anymore. It’s straight up liminal,” I said.

Perhaps she’ll get some in her Easter basket. But really, all she has to do is ask. We can fit bacon in somewhere, somehow, probably. It’s the same way when we need something from God. We desire to bless our children. God desires to bless us, too. All we have to do is ask.

So if you sinful people know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your heavenly Father give good gifts to those who ask him? – Matthew 7:11

 

 

 

