Even When it Hurts

cherry trees.jpg

(source)

By his divine power, God has given us everything we need for living a godly life. We have received all of this by coming to know him, the one who called us to himself by means of his marvelous glory and excellence. – 2 Peter 1:3

Some rough things have gone down this week. It’s too easy to get discouraged and lie down. Not gonna do it. Nope.

Things to celebrate:

I won at Words with Friends! Hard to believe, but I beat a worthy opponent. Of course, we have a rematch going on right now. Stay tuned.

Everything, it seems, is blooming. Lilacs. Lily-of-the-valley. Cherry trees, pear trees, plum trees. It’s rather glorious to be outside and breathing right now. Of course, I don’t have allergies. That helps.

Last night, Ruby and I watched “Mulan”. It was my first time and not her first time. She sat next to me on the couch, holding my hands. We snuggled under a cranberry-colored fleece blanket.

“You make me happy,” she said to me.

That was pretty fabulous.

The sun is starting to cut through yesterday’s clouds. Ahh…

I have a good friend I text with nearly daily. I confessed some of the painful things going on. They encouraged me, reminded me of my worth. Thank you, thank you. I was very down and couldn’t shake it. Jonathon prayed with me, too. So thankful for a man who lifts me up to the Father.

As I prayed this morning, still unable to scrub the last residue of heaviness clinging to me like cold sap, the Lord reminded me of the scripture above. Also, as a believer, I’m in the Beloved (Ephesians 1:6). I am part of the Bride of Christ. God’s love remains my bedrock. It’s the only safe place, my shelter, the high tower.

May you receive abundant reminders of His unfailing love for you today.

 

Leave a Reply

