Tags

, , , ,

i-am-a-writer-image

“We have to continually be jumping off cliffs and developing our wings on the way down.”
― Kurt Vonnegut

“I write to give myself strength. I write to be the characters that I am not. I write to explore all the things I’m afraid of.”  ― Joss Whedon

“Write what should not be forgotten.”  ― Isabel Allende

If you read these, you start to think writers are adrenalin-seeking, split-personality, absentminded scribblers.

Yes and amen, to all of those descriptors.

Recently, I was fortunate to be able to alter my schedule to attend my old writers group once a month. I typed up a memo, got it blessed, and started up again just last week. Last week consisted of a poetry reading session. Everyone brought poems to share with the group. We echoed back lines that resonated with us. We went on trips to lakes, back in time to childhood memories and even heard songs.

It was glorious.

So, why do I write? Because processing life, for me, often works better this way. I don’t hurt people with my poor choice of words to their face, in the moment. I think things through and make connections. I gain understanding as I put pen to paper, or in this case, fingers to keyboard.

Also, because truth must be spoken.  Because real life goes down better, sometimes, inside a fictional capsule. Because taking risks makes for the best stories. I think all people who indulge their creative side are risk-takers at heart.  They birth something brand new out of their imagination and inspiration.  I admire those brave ones so much.

Why do you create?

