Tags

, , ,

everythingmustgo

I’ve battled with shoulder and hip injuries for years now. If you’ve read my blog for awhile, you know this. Truly, I haven’t felt consistently 100 % since the 2012 marathon attempt. I don’t know about you guys, but I carry things around with me. I’m not talking about Kleenex and gum. I mean emotional baggage. I realized this morning that I don’t compartmentalize well. I forgive people, yet stuff stays with me. Like invisible baggage. Think of the residual black scummy gunk that clings to you like the leftover adhesive from an old sticker.

What I’m trying to say, and not very eloquently, is that I let some old junk go this morning. You can spin your wheels forever asking why circumstances turned the way they did, or you can move on. As I prayed about this stuff for the umpteenth time, I knew what I needed to do the Lord showed me. I can’t fix things. I’m not God and I never will be. Best for everyone, that.

My shoulder immediately stopped hurting. My hip, too. Guess where that stuff got stored? Right on this body. It’s like I couldn’t let go of the pain. Every time I dwelled on the past and tried to solve it, I created a comfy little nest for the aches to stay on my body, like much-loved parasites.  I’d wrestled with God about why I still hurt after chiropractor visits and massages. Nothing helped, at least not in a lasting fashion. Seems I needed to do my part.

I ran outside in the damp today, the air perfumed with thousands of flowers. A little mizzle fell on the sleeping town. I breathed it all in, grateful. Hey, what’s a little mizzle when you’re finally free? Will I come smack up against this issue again? Probably. The enemy knows my weaknesses. Also, I need to do a little stretching to get loose again. It might even try to revisit me again later today. But now I know what I’m up against. I’ll be ready.

And they have defeated him by the blood of the Lamb and by their testimony…Revelation 12:11

