Tags

, , , , , ,

Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a huge crowd of witnesses to the life of faith, let us strip off every weight that slows us down, especially the sin that so easily trips us up. And let us run with endurance the race God has set before us. – Hebrews 12:1

I went out for a run yesterday morning, Memorial Day. By the time I got up, breakfasted and out the door, the sun was full on shining. I don’t usually run in full sun. I’m like the old timey film in the photographer’s camera. Low light only until fully developed. Anyway, it felt good to be out amongst the blossoms and bright light.

I realized something, though. I need to build up. I want to up the mileage. And I remembered the streak. No nudity required (thank God). You runners know what I’m talking about. You run at least a mile every day for a set period of time. So I’d like to bring back the Memorial Day to Independence Day streak. One mile a day – at least – from now until July 4. This might mean some very early morning miles. It might mean some late miles, just before sunset. I haven’t given myself permission or this goal in years. I got up this morning and put it into action, over to the post office and back. One mile. Done.

I’m finding I need something more in this life. I need more stamina, more mental toughness. Which means I need to just do it, stop overanalyzing and get it done. Thank you, Nike.

just do it

