Tags

, , , , ,

lego God

(source)

Keeping the running streak alive, I headed out into the early morning cool. I hit the streets this morning about 5:30 a.m. A couple of tanker-sized clouds tinged with pink drifted in the pale blue sky. A breeze blew, making the trees wave and the air redolent with the scent of growing things.

As I moved along, I thought about this scripture:

When the cool evening breezes were blowing, the man and his wife heard the Lord God walking about in the garden. So they hid from the Lord God among the trees.  Then the Lord God called to the man, “Where are you? – Genesis 3:8-9

Originally, I remembered it as the morning being the “cool of the day”. Because for where I live, it is cooler in the morning. I don’t know about you, but mornings refresh me. I love the bible verse that says God’s mercies are new every morning (Lamentations 3:22-23). I take that to heart. I spend concentrated time with God in the mornings, and He with me.

Back to the Genesis account. Genesis 3 introduces the conflict. You’ll remember Adam and Eve ate the forbidden fruit offered up by the serpent. Adam and Eve now cringe at God’s approach, their perfect naked bodies now covered with fig leaves. They hid among the foliage. Perhaps they even climbed trees to escape God’s presence.

It sounds to me like God frequently walked with Adam in the cool of the evening, like it was their habit, their daily ritual. Maybe they had several millennia of contemplative walks together, the man and his Maker. What form did God take for these strolls? I wish I knew. We don’t really know the time lapse in the first book of the Bible. The 7 “days” of creation, including the Sabbath, could have been 7 literal days or thousands of years long. The point is, God and Adam had a relationship formed from their shared time. Adam’s disobedience must have broken God’s heart.

In the verses above, God calls out, looking for them. “Where are my people, the ones made in my image? Where are my free will creations?” Even more than that, I wonder if God felt lonely. He knew, of course, of his humans’ deception and sin. He knew the instant it happened, the downside of omniscience. The shout-out was for them to come to him and confess. He looked for their company even in their messed up state. God delighted in His creation and longed for fellowship with the people he made.

I don’t think it matters so much when you spend time with God. I’m a morning person; you may be a night person. Whether you do it in the morning or the evening, you can have your own “cool of the day” with the Lord. No fig leaves required.

 

 

 

 

