Tags

, , , ,

martha stewart living(source)

 

Years ago, I used to watch Martha Stewart Living.

Laugh if you want to. It’s okay.

Anyway, I’m not a crafty person at all. I spider web with a hot glue gun. I cut holes in things I try to sew except for pillows. I made a mean pillow. I love to bake and I’m good at it. But things with crafts…nope. So for me, it felt like Martha had a certain domestic magic I lacked.

I also watched Martha’s show because I wanted to see how the other half lived. I watched Martha create gorgeous flower arrangements out of blooms from her impeccable grounds at Turkey Hill. I watched her sew napkins with maple leaves stenciled on them. I even watched her make her own flavor-infused vodka. No lie.

But what’s stuck with me all these years is watching her make ganache. Ganache is a silky smooth chocolate frosting. It can make anything taste amazing. It consists of melted chocolate and heavy whipping cream. It’s easy. Heat the cream just to bubbling. Take it off the heat. Add the chocolate and let the whole mess sit for 5 minutes. Stir it up and voila, you have ganache! You can pour it over your cake. You can whip it up into a thick, spreadable mass. You can eat it with a spoon, straight from the bowl. Not that I would know anything about that. This video is more recent, but contains the basics.

Back to Martha. She made the little special touches of homemaking seem effortless. Tablescapes? No problem. Height, fabric and accessories, done. Anyone could make a cute apron from a burlap sack or deftly fold a fitted sheet. True confession: still working on that skill. Martha gave us access to the well-appointed life. It seemed like we too could become lifestyle millionaires with entire paint and high thread count linen lines bearing our name. We could be fancy and still be ourselves, only better.

It’s a good thing.

