Tags

, ,

morning lake viewI sit outside. The air is alive with birdsong. Crickets chirp, a faint pedal tone. Chipmunks scurry in the tree next to me. In front of me, the lake awakens. Its surface resembles blue glass, reflecting a darker version of the blue sky above it.

Confession time: I have eaten sweets, starting at our anniversary. I don’t crave them like I used to. And it’s pretty much only been chocolate – no cookies, etc. We made s’mores last night in the fire pit near the dock. The charred jumbo marshmallow squished out all over my face and hands, leaving a ghostly residue. The chocolate added its mellow smoothness to the crunch of the graham cracker. All in all, though we had a great time around the fire, the treat proved too sweet. Took a long time to get to sleep last night. But it was worth it. I say this to let you know sometimes it’s okay to let go of our plans and our ways in order to participate in life.

When we set up the slip-n-slide, all 100 feet of white-tarped goodness, I watched. I felt reluctant to do it. What if I hurt myself? I’m not as young as I used to be. Instead, I took pictures of my husband and brother-in-law and all the kids zipping down the hill. They rolled in puddles of water at the bottom. They laughed and screamed. They slid off the end, seeing who could get the most distance. Brothers never lose that competitive edge.

“Mom, are you going to go down?” Zac asked me. We stood in the shade of a hundred-year-old tree.

“Yes,” I said, scrolling through pictures on my phone. “I need to get my suit on.”

“Well, Mom,” he said. “Put your phone down and live life!” he said. Then he threw himself down the hill.

I laughed. Then, I took his advice. I don’t want to miss a thing.

The yellow smiley face balloon at the end of the dock turns and faces me. It beckons to me to come and sit awhile. Relax. Put your agenda down. It’s okay to not have it all mapped out. You got this.

I’m going right now.

So if the Son sets you free, you are truly free. – John 8:36

 

