Back in the Saddle

Back to work. It’s not been easy, getting my head around that reality. We had such a great vacation. I hated to leave that close-knit family, relaxed vibe. But laundry. But bills. But church obligations. Real life came knocking and wouldn’t leave.

I spent quite a bit of time praying this morning. I couldn’t shake the let-down feeling. My bosses deserve a 100% Susan, not one who keeps looking back. I found a piece of God’s peace and kept it close. I went back to the office.  I waded through the piles of invoices and work orders that waited, patient for me to return.

And I ended the running streak yesterday. I ran for 50 days straight. The streak served its purpose, giving everyone the benefit of the nice Susan while on the trip. I stopped it yesterday because my hip hurt. My back ached and my brain screamed “Rest!” I didn’t want to do it. I’m terrible at resting, at quitting, at letting stuff go.

Today, I’m back at it. I got out in the cool, gray-helmeted morning and reveled in the freshness of it all. The flowers cheered me with their sunny faces. I breathed in their scent. I needed the mental and physical break from running, just like I needed the vacation we took.

It’s okay to step off the rutted trail for a minute and get your bearings. Life is a marathon, not a sprint. Sometimes, we need to step back for a minute. Taking a selah is not a sin. In fact, you might come back to your regularly scheduled life with a bit more pep in your step and some new life.

The Lord is my shepherd;
    I have all that I need.
He lets me rest in green meadows;
    he leads me beside peaceful streams.
He renews my strength.
He guides me along right paths,
    bringing honor to his name. – Psalm 23:1-3

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

