Tags

, ,

The moon glowed in the sky, putting the street lights to shame. A few stars twinkled in the black. I eased my tired frame onto the road. What am I doing out here? I should be sleeping, I thought. But only fleetingly.

Because I knew what I was doing. I needed to get ready for a new day. I needed to put on a fresh attitude. For me, running or exercising is part and parcel of the morning. I won’t say it has the same level of importance as Bible reading and prayer, but the combination proves dynamic. Getting the spirit ready for this chunk of time matters as much as getting the body ready.

Lately, I seem to be stuck in a limbo state in several areas. Like this.

frog in amber.jpeg

(source)

Training for the half marathon in October progresses on schedule. Work simply is, most days similar to the ones adjacent. Selling the house plods along. Summer, as much as I love it, seems endless and very, very hot. The kids are restless and so are we. I’m grateful for the lack of drama and crises, and yet long for more.

Inside, I look like this

child-on-tiptoe

(source)

I’m like the little kid who can’t quite see the top of the counter. I stretch myself as tall as I can (don’t laugh), reach up and pat around. What’s there? Oooh, what’s this thing? Anything good? I want to see!

Seasons don’t last forever. Each night, a cool breeze comes up as the sun goes down. Our house sits in shadow and the sweet summer air blows through the building, easing the stuffiness. I’m waiting for the fresh wind of the Holy Spirit to stir things up. We’re right on the cusp of a new season of life. I’m holding on the counter of faith to see it.

For I am about to do something new.
    See, I have already begun! Do you not see it?
I will make a pathway through the wilderness.
    I will create rivers in the dry wasteland. – Isaiah 43:19

